EC ENGLISH – www.ecenglish.com

EC Toon: Joke

You’ve probably heard make up used as a noun for cosmetics, but did you know that it’s also used as a phrasal verb?

Make up – (noun) a cosmetic worn on the face to change your appearance.

Make up(phrasal verb) to forgive / apologise with someone and to be friends again after a fight or argument.

"I often fight with my brother but we always make up soon after."

 

EC Toon: Joke

This month let’s take a look at the word hit. In the cartoon we can see two different meanings:

Hit – (verb) to strike something.

"I hit the spider with my shoe."

Hit (on) something(phrasal verb) to realise something or to think of an idea unexpectedly.

"I’d been thinking of how to solve the problem all night and then answer suddenly hit me."

"When I first hit on the idea, everyone told me it wouldn’t work."

Esse post foi publicado em Não categorizado. Bookmark o link permanente.

Deixe uma resposta

