YouTube – Kate Nash – The Nicest Thing

Although she is only 20 years of age [21 this month -ed.], English singer-songwriter Kate Nash has already made a name for herself, thanks to her debut album, Made of Bricks, which was released by Polydor/Universal last year. The albulm contains the hit single "Foundations," as well as "Mouthwash," "Pumpkin Soup" and tracks with such explicit titles as "Dickhead" and "Shit Song." Kate’s Nash’s stage shows are theatrical and this could be because her original plan in life was to become an actress. As she explain in this interwiew made by "Speak Up", she switched to music after being turned down by the prestigious Bristol Old Vic Theatre School:

KATE NASH – "I wanted to go to drama school and act. I wanted to be in school and be disciplined and educated and I got rejected. So I got a final rejection letter from the drama school I really wanted to go to and I fell down the stairs and broke my foot on the same day and I had these three of… of not being able to do anything or go anywhere and it was those three weeks of not really doing anything that pushed me to kind of … forced me to, like, realise I had to reassess my situation and drama school wasn’t going to work out and so, yeah, I was writing songs I was happy with and I decided, in that three-week gap where I broke my foot, to book a gig. It where that that kind of gave me the guts and it gave me the guts to do it."

"I liked indie music, I loved the Strokes, and I got into punk music when I was about 17 ‘cause I.. got the Buzzcocks single, "Going Steady," record, and I remember going to a market at "the Spits," and asking a … one of this old … old boys at the market to tell me about punk music and he was like, "Oh, my cousin used to be in a band," and like he got all these old punk records for me and I bought them and then… and then, yeah, so, that was the age I kind of started to find more interesting, alternative music and really take it kind of more seriously, I think."  

The Nicest Thing

YouTube – Kate Nash – The Nicest Thing

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Nicest Thing (Tradução)

Kate Nash

Translated by Laercio Venturini

All I know is that you’re so nice

Tudo eu sei é que você é tão adorável

You’re the nicest thing I’ve seen

Você é a coisa mais adorável que eu já vi

I wish that we could give it a go

Eu queria que nós levássemos isso adiante

See if we could be something

Ver se podemos ser algo.

I wish I was your favourite girl

Eu queria que eu fosse a sua garota favorita


I wish you thought I was the reason you are in the world

Eu queria que você pensasse que eu era a razão de você estar no mundo

I wish my smile was your favourite kind of smile

Eu queria que meu sorriso fosse o seu tipo de sorriso favorito

I wish the way that I dress was your favourite kind of style

Eu queria que o jeito que eu me visto fosse o seu estilo favorito

I wish you couldn’t figure me out

Eu queria que você não conseguisse me entender

But you’d always wanna know what I was about

Mas que sempre quisesse saber como eu sou

I wish you’d hold my hand when I was upset

Eu queria que você segurasse a minha mão quando eu estivesse chateada

I wish you’d never forget the look on my face when we first met

Eu queria que você nunca esquecesse o meu olhar quando nos vimos pela primeira vez

I wish you had a favourite beauty spot that you loved secretly
Eu queria que tivesse uma marquinha na pele de que você gostasse secretamente

‘Cos it was on a hidden bit that nobody else could see
Porque estaria num lugar escondido onde ninguém poderia ver

Basically, I wish that you loved me

Basicamente, eu queria que você me amasse


I wish that you needed me

Eu queria que você precisasse de mim

I wish that you knew when I said two sugars, actually I meant three

Eu queria que você soubesse que quando eu pedisse dois torrões de açúcar, na verdade eu queria três

I wish that without me your heart would break

Eu queria que sem mim o seu coração se partisse


I wish that without me you’d be spending the rest of your nights awake

Eu queria que sem mim você passasse o resto da suas noites acordado

I wish that without me you couldn’t eat

Eu queria que sem mim você não pudesse comer

I wish I was the last thing on your mind before you went to sleep

Eu queria ser a última coisa em que você pensasse antes que fosse dormir

All I know is that you’re the nicest thing I’ve ever seen

Tudo que eu sei é que você é a coisa mais adorável que eu já vi

And I wish we could see if we could be something

E eu queria que nós pudéssemos ver se nós podíamos ser algo

And I wish we could see if we could be something

E eu queria que nós pudéssemos ver se nós podíamos ser algo

Esse post foi publicado em Não categorizado. Bookmark o link permanente.

Deixe uma resposta

