ALGUMAS PALAVRINHAS PARA AJUDAR OS AMERICANOS A FALAREM MELHOR O INGLÊS BRITÂNICO

 

1. Cheesed off – This is a polite way of saying you are pissed off with something.

2. Cor – You’ll often hear a Brit say “Cor”! It is another one of these expressions of surprise that we seem to have so many of. It will sometimes be lengthened to “Cor blimey” or “Cor love a duck”, depending on where you are. “Cor blimey” is a variation of “Gawd blimey” or “Gor blimey”. They are all a corruption of the oath “God blind me”.

3. Daft – My Dad used to call me a daft ‘apeth which is short for a daft half penny (in old money). It basically means stupid.

4. Do – If you go into a shop and say “do you do batteries?” It means “do you sell batteries?”

5. Dim – A dim person is stupid or thick or a dim wit.

6. Excuse me – This is a great one! It’s what kids are taught to say when they belch in public. We are also taught to say “pardon me” if we fart out loud. Unfortunately in American “excuse me” means you are encroaching in someone’s personal space and you say “pardon me” when you don’t hear someone properly. Imagine our surprise when we discovered that actually Americans are not belching and farting all the time.

7. Fortnight – Two weeks. Comes from an abbreviation of “fourteen nights”. Hence terms like “I’m off for a fortnights holiday” meaning “I am going on a two week vacation”.

8. Give us a bell – This simply means call me. You often hear people use the word “us” to mean “me”.

9. Kip – A short sleep, forty winks, or a snooze. You have a kip in front of the Telly on a Sunday afternoon.

Esse post foi publicado em Não categorizado. Bookmark o link permanente.

Deixe um comentário